Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Julio Bashmore Essential Mix on BBC Radio 1

Ever since Claude Von Stroke released his first EP on San Fransisco-based label dirtybird, Julio Bashmore has been keeping it real with some of the freshest sounds in the dance music game.  Inspired by Chicago house, a healthy serving of UK bass, and even a sprinkling of hip-hop, Julio's music is unparalleled in quality and dance-ability.

Last Saturday, Julio's Essential Mix aired on BBC Radio 1, one of dance music's biggest stages.  From the very moment the analog sounds of "Battle for Middle You" poured from my speakers and sloshed around inside my hollow cranium, I knew this kid was special.  And I'm not the only one who thinks so: his records have received support from the likes of Teki Latex to Jesse Rose.  But now, with his entry into the vaunted halls of Pete Tong's Essential Mix, its been made official: Julio Bashmore is the future; the Bristol sound is here to stay.  

Be sure to give this mix a once over if you have ever thought to yourself, at any point and for any reason, that you like to dance.  Tracklist and bonus mix after the jump.
   Julio Bashmore Essential Mix 24-9-2011 by Bright & Shiny

01. Ruffneck – Everybody Be Somebody feat. Yavahn [MAW Records]
02. Dem 2 – Reach [New York Soundclash]
03. Larry Heard – Missing you (Instrumental) [Track Mode Recordings]
04. Faith Evans – Love Like This Before (Behling & Simpson Edit) [Boogiefutero]
05. Motor City Drum Ensemble – Raw Cuts #3 [MCDE]
06. FCL – Let’s Go [We Play House]
07. Maceo Plex – Stay High Baby [Visionquest]
08. Chip E. – Like This feat K Joy (DJ International version) [PURE INNERGY RECORDINGS]
09. Larry Heard – And So I Dance (Julio Bashmore Dub)
10. Robert Owens – I’ll Be Your Friend (OG Def Mix) [RCA]
11. Salt City Orchestra – The Book (Hardback Dub) [Paper Recordings]
12. KiNK & Neville Watson – A Saturday In Novembe (Vocal)
13. Daddykshun – Love to Learn (Doc Martin’s Sublove Remix)
14. Tevo Howard – Spend Some Time (Underground Mix)
15. Esteban Adame – I’ll Never Give Up [Underground Quality]
16. Julio Bashmore – Batak Groove [Soul Motive]
17. Julio Bashmore – Well Wishers [Futureboogie]
18. Karizma – In the D.E.E.P. (Kris Klayton Remix) [Ricanstruction Records]
19. D’bora – Going Round (MK’s Dub) [MCA Records]
20. Joy O – Ellipsis [Dub]
21. Jodeci – Freek ‘N You (MK Dub) [ZAC Records]
22. Maurice Donovan – Babeh [SSSSS]
23. Scuba – Adrenalin [Hot Flush]
24. Scratcha – Only in Dark [Dub]
25. Maddslinky – Compuphonic [Dub]
26. Femme En Fourrure – Bound [3024]
27. Kink – E79 [Ovum]
28. Classixx – Into The Valley (Julio Bashmore Remix) [Greensoundlabel]
29. Coat of Arms – Is This Something [Futureboogie]
30. Julio Bashmore – Battle for Middle You [PMR Records]
31. Larry Heard Presents: Mr. White – Sun Can’t Compare [Alleviated Records]
32. Terrence Parker – Loves Got Me High (Marc Romboys Systematic Soul Dub) [Systematic Recordings]
33. Zinja Hlungwani – Nwagezani My Love [Honest John's]

Moar Julio

Check out this equally groovy mix fellow Bristolian Eats Everything did for Jaymo & Andy George's label/party outfit, Moda.  Lots of unreleased gems from up-and-coming producers in the Bristol scene here!  And be sure to support Eats Everything's brand new track with Worthy, "Tric Trac" on beatport.
   Eats Everything Exclusive Moda Mix by itsmodamusic


No comments:

Post a Comment